Pet Passports 

The practice has five vets with local veterinary inspector training to allow us to export pets on the PETS travel scheme. If you are interested in taking your pet abroad please phone us for details of the scheme.


PETS TRAVEL SCHEME                      


For you to be able to take your pet abroad and bring it back into the UK it will have to comply with the Pet Travel Scheme. This consists of three parts: Microchipping, vaccinating and issuing the passport .



A microchip is a permanent method of identification. A small microchip is put under the skin between the shoulder blades of the animal and remains there for life. The microchip is read with a handheld scanner, which reads the barcode in the chip. Each microchip has a unique number allowing identification of individual animals. For travel abroad each animal has to be microchipped before it can have its Rabies vaccine. At the present time the charge for microchipping is £18.00 (when performed for a passport).


Vaccination and issue of Passport:

Animals have to be at least three months old before they can have their vaccination. At present the vaccination will cost £46.80. The vaccination must be given at least 21 days before travel. The passport can be issued once the animal is vaccinated. This currently costs £88.92


Booster vaccination:

The passport will have to be revalidated at each booster vaccination (every three years). If the booster vaccination is given before the passport runs out the animal can travel immediately. If the animal goes over the date of expiry of the passport even by one day they will have to wait 21 days before travel. At present booster vaccination and revalidation of the passport costs £40.64


Participating countries:

EU countries and territories:


            Austria                         Azores                         Balearic Islands            Belgium                        Bulgaria                      Canary Islands  Ceuta                           Cyprus                         Czech Republic            Denmark                      Estonia             Faroe Islands

            Finland             France                          French Guiana            Germany                      Gibraltar                       Greece                         Greenland                    Guadeloupe                 Hungary                      Italy                              Latvia                           Lithuania                      Luxembourg               Madeira                      Malta                           Martinique                   Melilla                          Netherlands                 Poland                          Portugal                       Reunion            Romania                      Slovakia                      Slovenia

            Spain                            Sweden



Non EU countries and territories:


            Andorra                      Antigua & Barbuda            Argentina         Aruba                           Ascension Island            Australia                      Bahrain             Barbados                     Belarus             Bermuda                      Bosnia-Herzegovina            British Virgin Is.            Canada                                    Cayman Islands            Chile                Croatia                         Falkland Islands            Fiji                               French Polynesia            Grenadines                   Guam

            Hawaii                          Hong Kong                Iceland                         Japan                           Liechtenstein                Malaysia                      Mauritius                     Mayotte                      Mexico             Monaco                      Montserrat            Netherlands Antilles                       New Caledonia            New Zealand                        Norway                      Russian Federation            St Helena              St Kitts & Nevis

            St Pierre & Miquelon            St Vincent             San Marino

            Singapore                   Switzerland                   Taiwan             Trinidad & Tobago            United Arab Emirates            USA (mainland)            Vanuatu                      Vatican             Wallis & Futuna


For travel to EU countries (except Sweden) the passport should be all that is necessary. For travel to Non-EU countries extra certificates will be necessary. The animal will need to be examined a few days before travel and the export health certificate issued. For some countries extra tests are required so you should obtain details well in advance. At present issuing an export health certificate costs £48.48


Ports of entry into the UK:

Animals will only be allowed to enter the country through designated ports. You will need to check with your travel agent that you will be entering the UK through one of these designated ports and with a licensed carrier.


Return to the UK:

Dogs have to be treated for tapeworms before returning to the UK. The tapeworm treatment will have to be done by a veterinary surgeon within 24 – 120 hours (one-five days) of return to the UK This will have to be signed for by them in the passport. Queries can be answered by a member of staff or the PETS helpline on 0870 241 1710.


Disease risks overseas:

It is worth remembering that tick borne diseases and other exotic conditions are present in Europe and elsewhere, which we do not see in the UK. You should be applying flea and tick control whilst the animal is abroad. You may also require fly repellents. If you are travelling to southern Europe or the tropics Leishmaniasis is a risk. There is now a vaccine available for this. Please ask the vet if you would like further information.

1066 Chester RoadPype HayesBirminghamWest MidlandsB24 0SA0121 350 2303find us

Find us on facebookPype Hayes Vets In Birmingham Are A RCVS Accredited Practice

Online Booking System

Pets Gallery
Special Offers
Latest News